10.05.2018 03:58
Kerioak
portfolio

This was supposed to be a flat field of wild flowers, mostly daisies with a treeline and sunrise from one of my photos, but sort of evolved into what you see here with the hills and water and flower meadow (much reduced in size and quality).   I have added two photos to this post and would love to know which you prefer - and why, and if you don't like them it would also be interesting to know as I am still learning so helpful critiques would be very welcome.

I made the (possible) mistake of using the largest canvas as if I liked it was going to print out on A3; but kept having to wait for the painting to catch up so it has been created over three days, as I went off and did something else while it was working.

Rural Sunrise

Rural Sunrise with daisies

10.05.2018 05:41
Betty Piper
portfolio

I like The seond one with the daisy in foreground.  It adds interest and brings your eye into the picture. 

10.05.2018 10:44
Kerioak
portfolio

Thank you Betty, I might have to work on the dasies bit, they look a bit tatty at the moment

22.05.2018 06:18
Kerioak
portfolio

I thought I would have a go with the pastels yesterday (and today).  Traced the main outline of the horse from one of my photos (which is a first as I usually do freehand) and used it as reference for the tones. The background came from imagination.

Sea Horse

01.06.2018 07:38
David K Manuel
portfolio

These are delightful paintings! I especially like the one with the daiseys in the foreground. The thing I find perhaps a bit missing, is a bit of deep shadow in the undergrowth at their bases here and there. Some place for the critters to hide that beckons us forward with their mysteries. ;-)