30.07.2018 11:29
grapher
portfolio

Hi, im very new to the rebelle, so maybe this is more question than bug - i was trying to start new canvas, 300 DPI A3 (same problem with A4/600dpi)  - by pixels, its large. I have problem with the brushes - even size of 100 is terribly small - what am i doing wrong? or, is there way to define the brushes in mm ? Or, am i looking on it with wrong perspective, and is there other way to lay large areas of water colors ?

Thank you for answer.

30.07.2018 04:03
Kerioak
portfolio

You may find that this brush tutorial series helps  - https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLUuRcU19WlxYuIav5Pf7OecQtzSfyOwrS

I have found that the most I can do is 300 at A4 size due to the limitations of my laptop, if I try and do A3 or 600 dpi becomes very slow.   My plan is, when I get around to printing larger sizes, is to enlarge them in Photoshop.  The largest I have printed so far is A4 and am happy with that so I hope the larger sizes also print well as I am planning an A2 soon .

To print large areas of watercolour I wet the canvas, pause the diffuser, paint and then turn on diffuser and go and do something else for between 5 and 30 minutes while it works.  Try experimenting with a very small canvas till you get the effect you want and then do it on your working size to save time.  Those with more powerful machines/set ups will have different experiences to me.  As you will see from my portfolio I am still very much experimenting about both Rebelle and Art and do not have a particular style unlike many of the experienced artists here.

31.07.2018 12:57
csandnes
portfolio

Grapher:

You aren't doing anyting wrong.

If you play around with dpi settings (with the brush set to maximum width,) you'll note that at 72dpi the brush is very large and covers quite a bit of canvas. As you progress through dpi settings, you'll note when you finally arrive at 600dpi that same maximum width brush will be a small circle on your paper.